5 Spice Roasted Pumpkin Soup

I love soup! And I find it very comforting and filling  this time year.

This recipe was included in my local farmers’ market newsletter. I love my local farmers’ market. I am there practically every Saturday.  In their weekly newsletter, this recipe was included.  ***link below***

As with most recipes I find, as some of you know, I do some adjusting. Sometimes it is lots of adjusting. I say why not! Sometimes in a recipe there are ingredients I do not care for so I adjust it to what I like, since I am the one eating the final product.

Here is my list of adjustments to the recipe:

*substituted Japanese sweet potatoes for parsnips

*red onion instead of shallots

*chicken broth for vegetable broth (because that is what I had. Typically I do use vegetable broth)

*added 4 cloves of garlic

*added 3oz of goat cheese

*topped with shaved parmesan cheese instead of scallions and coconut cream

*made my own 5 spice – 2 tsp cinnamon; 2 tsp nutmeg; 2 tsp ground cloves; 3 stars of star anise; and 2 tsp white pepper – I have an extra coffee grinder so I put all ingredients in grinder and pulsed until the star anise was ground in,

And actually followed the directions for the soup.

**pumpkin, sweet potatoes, onions, goat cheese, and garlic from my local farmers’ market – Chapel Hill Farmers’ Market**

20161030_135123

 

Roasted Five-Spice Pumpkin Soup

Leave a Reply

