Chicken Pot Pie Soup

I found this recipe in a special interest magazine, “Better Homes and Gardens Special Interest Publications – Soups and Stews”.  I love soup so this magazine was a MUST HAVE for me!

As I usually do, I made a few minor adjustments. Here is how I made it:

*1 TBSP butter

*1/2 cup chopped carrots

*1/2 cup chopped onion

*4 cloves minced garlic

*1 Portobello mushroom cap – chopped

*4 cups chicken broth

*2 cups chopped cooked chicken

*2 cups dried egg noodles

*1/2 tsp each – salt (I used lime salt); dry mustard; black pepper

*1/4 tsp curry powder

*1 cup fat free half & half

*1 TBSP flour  (all purpose flour)

*1 cup chopped broccoli

*1/2 cup frozen peas

*sriracha to taste (I used about a tsp or so)

  1.  In large saucepan melt butter over med heat, then add carrots, onions, and garlic and cook until tender. Stir in chicken broth; chicken; egg noodle; salt; mustard; sriracha; and curry powder. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer until noodles are tender.
  2.  In a small bowl whisk together half & half and flour, then gradually add to chicken mixture. Stir in broccoli and peas. Let simmer about 5 minutes or so until soup has slightly thickened.

I served the soup topped with a little shredded cheese and homemade crescent rolls.

 

20170107_142539_148389875966220170107_153057_1483898757802

 

Leave a Reply

